Patrick Morales, President

Patrick Morales currently lives in Blount County and has been active in events led or co-sponsored by SOCM members for several years. He is a member of the E3 committee, often representing SOCM at conferences and bringing his knowledge back to the group. Patrick is also part of the coordinating committee with the Alliance for Appalachia.

Norma Limon, Vice President

Nora is a member of the E3 Committee and lives in White Bluff, Tenn. She was elected as an at-large delegate in 2010 and moved in the secretary position in 2014 before being elected Vice President.

Daniel Snider, Secretary

Daniel Snider is the former chair and current membership coordinator for the Knoxville Chapter. He is a resident of Knoxville where he works at the Lawson McGhee Public Library and co-owns a compost pick-up service in Knoxville. He is also on the Board for Community Shares of Tennessee. Daniel is passionate about the food access work the Knoxville Chapter is doing because public health and people’s wellness depend upon what they eat, how they get that food, and what their relationship to food is.

Franz Raetzer, Treasurer

Franz lives in Harriman in Roane County. He is a retired electro-mechanical engineer with a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from the University of Tennessee. Franz was elected Treasurer in 2011 after being an active member for several years. He is a member of the E3 and Green-Collar Jobs Committees, the ART Team, and the Finance Committee.

Ruthie Whisnant, Jackson Chapter Representative

Ruthie was elected as Jackson Chapter Rep in 2014.

Drocella Mogorewera, Knoxville Chapter Representative

Drocella is a Development Consultant and Public policy professional. She has over 10 years of expertise in environment, rural development, strategic planning, agriculture, implementation and administration in developing countries. Her dream is to use her experience, her skills and her love for the community for a sustainable development in Knoxville. She believes that there is no community without communion and there is no communion without a community. Drocella was elected as Knoxville Chapter rep in 2014.

Joycelene Johns, Maury County Chapter Representative

Joycelene, a resident of Mt. Pleasant in Maury County, has been active in the fight for clean and affordable water in her community. She became a SOCM member in 2012 and was elected by the chapter to serve as the Board Rep in October 2013.

Ellen Martin, Roaring River Chapter Representative

Ellen is an active Roaring River Chapter member and former SOCM Board President.

Calief Snelling, Rutherford County Chapter Representative

Calief Snelling is a lifelong resident of Murfreesboro, TN. He has been active in movements for social justice since high school (a long time). A relatively new SOCM member, he has been leading the efforts of the Rutherford County chapter to oppose the siting of auto junkyards in the unique ecosystem where he has lived for 30 years.  Calief lives with his wife Julie on land that was formerly an intentional community, on the outskirts of Murfreesboro. Their property borders the 800+ acre Flat Rock Cedar Glades and Barrens State Natural Area on one side, and a poorly-run junkyard on the other.

David Beaty, At-Large Delegate

David and his wife Beckey live in Fentress County Tennessee, have been SOCM members since 1991. David is the current co-chair of the Green Collar Jobs Committee. He also serves on the Finance Committee and E3 Committee. He has lobbied many times in DC and Nashville to protect our water and land, and to stop mountain top removal mining with The Alliance for Appalachia. David was a UAW Union worker, a Fentress County Elected Official, a business owner for 34 years and now enjoys retirement.

Lauren Bush, At-Large Delegate

Lauren is the current co-chair of the Green Collar Jobs Committee. She is a resident of Cookeville, where she is an engineering student at Tennessee Tech University. Lauren has been an active SOCM member since the fall of 2012. Lauren joined the SOCM Board in 2014 as an At-Large Delegate.